Operation #bringsexyback – Resources (Exercise)

You will never out train a bad diet. If you think you can be the exception to this rule…go away. There is nothing anyone can do to help you. For the rest of us that know that proper nutrition is the key to great health let’s keep it moving…and I’m talking moving like in exercise.

I’m not telling you to bike across the country to accomplish your fitness goals though I do think you would enjoy it beyond the health benefits. I’m telling you to move. There are so many different activities you can do for exercise it’s beyond ridiculous. What’s even more ridiculous is that people in general aren’t doing them. We’re such a “how can we make it more efficient” society we don’t end up working out at all. I believe that efficiency is a highly evolved form of laziness…think about that for a while.

I’ve learned from working at a gym, besides not knowing how and what to eat…people don’t know how to exercise. I take this aspect for granted. Though I did let myself get to over 315 lbs, over my life I have been in gyms for stretches at a time so I knew some basics before I started at the gym. Of course now I know more and plan on continue learning. It just amazes me and leaves me dumbfounded how much people don’t know about exercise. You shouldn’t be allowed to graduate high school without having to have had at least some years of nutrition and exercise classes. You’re going to have to deal with nutrition and your health forever, why not have a good understanding of something that will make your life better.

I blame our culture. We’re so screwed up as a country that we don’t focus on the very things that could make over half our health problems go away. My heart goes out to a lot of the gym members. They come in and try. But the expectations are so warped…the lack of education is more dried up than the desert.

Random thought…desserts backwards is stressed!! Coincidence…I think not!!

Back to business. There are people that reach out and want the information so they can accomplish their goals. I’m hoping this blog helps someone who’s looking for help.

Others don’t know, so they’ll guess. Which is good because as I’ve mentioned before, there is value in the journey…the destination isn’t always the biggest reward. But soon, they give up for some reason or another. Countless times, I have members cancel. They say it’s because they don’t have time, or are moving or some other excuse that they use to save face because they quit on their goal. I know why they’re canceling…they gave up on their goal. I can see it in their eyes. I know what quitting looks like. I’ve done it too many times before. I almost quit on the bike tour. But I didn’t…I’m not exactly sure why…I could have…should have. This quote is the best I’ve been able to find to describe as to why I finished: “You can quit if you want, and no one will care. But you will know for the rest of your life.”

I don’t want you to quit your health journey. I’m not quitting mine. Here are some resources and gear that I believe will help you along the way.

Gym Membership

Get out of your house…go somewhere where you’re surrounded by positive people and environment. A gym is a great place to exercise and be around people who are health conscious. I’ve tried to work out at home and couldn’t do it. Your house is where you keep all your creature comforts…bed…food…and God knows what else. Don’t fool yourself by testing your will power. There isn’t enough will power in all the world to help you if your surrounded by temptation constantly. So go somewhere where you can focus and have tools to help you get there. And don’t make the excuse that you can’t afford it. Our gym is $10 / month. I’m sure you spent more at the bar last weekend or the last restaurant you went to…probably enough to buy an entire years worth of membership in fact.

Exercise Plan

So what do you do when you’re at the gym? I recommend everyone do a combination of the following. But please…please…please be careful. I, over time, have been working out and am now able to perform these exercises. If you think that if you’re going to be able to do them Day 1 with no experience or preperation what-so-ever, you may get hurt, quit or worse. So please consult a doctor before you start any exercise plan.

P90X – I’m sure in recent years you’ve seen the infomercials. These are some bad ass exercises. If you saw my recent pic update, you’ll see that they are helping me create results. But again, these exercises are not to be taken lightly. Do not jump in at Mach 5. Take your time. If you can only do so many sets/reps with X lbs of weight…that’s fine. The point is to start and make progress. I’m currently using the iPhone P90X App as it has all the workouts within the app in a video format and you can track your sets/reps/weight within the app as well.

If the P90X workouts are a bit much for you now, that’s ok. As I write this, I’m actually backing off of the workouts for the next month as I’m having an elbow issue but that’s not going to prevent me from working out. I’m just going to level down and do some less intense exercises to give my elbow time to recoup.

The point is to have a plan. Just don’t go to he gym and scratch your head. That’s not going to create a sufficient enough calorie burn to get you where you want to go. Here’s a simple routine that you can use to get you started.

Week 1

Monday – Upper Body Muscle Groups: Chest, Shoulders, Back, Triceps, Biceps

Tuesday – Cardio

Wednessday – Lower Body Muscle Groups: Quads, Hamstrings, Calves, Abs

Thursday – Cardio

Friday – Upper Body Muscle Groups: Chest, Shoulders, Back, Triceps, Biceps

Saturday – Cardio

Sunday – Rest

Week 2

Monday – Lower Body Muscle Groups: Quads, Hamstrings, Calves, Abs

Tuesday – Cardio

Wednesday – Upper Body Muscle Groups: Chest, Shoulders, Back, Triceps, Biceps

Thursday – Cardio

Friday – Lower Body Muscle Groups: Quads, Hamstrings, Calves, Abs

Saturday – Cardio

Sunday – Rest

Rotate through the weeks…odd number weeks you do the workouts from week 1…even numbered weeks you do the workouts from week 2 and continue to alternate. Get familiar with your gym and identify the strength machines and free weights you need to use to work each muscle group.

Again, this is a basic routine to get most people started. Over time work to discover which is the next level best suited for you to take your workouts to.

Blast

Resources

http://www.blastfitness.com/blast-fitness-locations-arizona/indian-school-AZ-gym.html

http://www.beachbody.com/product/fitness_programs/official-fitness-workout-p90x-app-for-iphone.do

Leave a Reply

