Operation #bringsexyback – Being SMART

For a long time, I’ve had this internal argument…Easy vs Simple. I’ve come to define the two for myself in this way. Easy – doesn’t take a lot of effort. Simple – Not overly complicated.

I don’t think many people have differentiated the two for themselves as I have because as a society we are constantly bombarded with information. We’re are in the age of information where one person can broadcast anything to a large audience in a matter of seconds with a push of a button. The problem with this is that with so many people broadcasting all at once it becomes real noisy fast. You can try to listen to all of the noise at once but it’s just going to be a garbled mess. You’ll get confused. You won’t be able to tell the good content from the bad. You’ll end up spending too much time (which we only have a limited amount of) trying to find something of value. Before you know it you’ve spent days/weeks/months/years looking and you ended up doing nothing…nothing but looking. You didn’t take any action. I am guilty of this.

I have analytical tendencies so when I’m presented with new information I want to poke and prod and ponder and on and on and on. If I’m not careful, I won’t achieve anything with this new information. I couldn’t be this way on the bike tour. I can’t recall the number of times my bike broke…from tires to chains to gears…the only thing I didn’t replace was the frame. I learned…move or die…make a decision. You learn how differentiate between Easy and Simple. I adopted the K. I. S. S. (Keep It Super Simple) approach and used it many times on the bike tour. I had to. Easy moments were few far and in between. Simple…there was nothing simple about riding a bike across America. Over time, I learned how to make the tour enjoyable by applying these techniques.

I’ve evolved this process for my health journey to S. M. A. R. T. Goals. If you decided that you want to take a health journey with me, download the S. M. A. R. T. Goals Template here (https://www.facebook.com/groups/theteamdifference/).

S. M. A. R. T. stands for: Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant and Time-Framed. I chose this template as a part of my health journey because it satisfied my Easy and Simple criteria. You’ll see from the template there are questions that you can ask yourself to help you define your goals. Check out the Wiki page (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SMART_criteria) on S. M. A. R. T. Criteria for additional questions you can ask yourself. Take some time and work through the S. M. A. R. T. Goals Template.

As I mentioned earlier, we’re constantly bombarded with all sorts of different noise in our lives. One of the most fulfilling outcomes of the bike tour was that I was able to turn the noise off. I didn’t have to deal with emails and phone calls and voice mails and meetings and appointments and blah blah blah. I didn’t understand what I was experiencing at first. It was silence. The noises that used to distract me from my thoughts were gone. It was unsettling at first so I tried to recreate the noise with music and audio books. Within a short period of time, I listed to everything I’ve every wanted to listen to. The noise was gone again and the silence was back. It can be really unsettling to be alone in the silence with your thoughts when you’re used to being interrupted so often. So I decided to think…to listen to the silence…to just be. It was bliss. Eventually I got to the point where I could have a thought and explore it from beginning to end. It was awkward at first because you’re not used to being able to do that. I soon realized I loved it. I stopped trying to make mental noise and I started to listen to my thoughts. It was euphoric to be able to think about anything and everything. I didn’t have to come to conclusions, though on somethings I did. Other thoughts were just that…complete and total thoughts. I suggest you do yourself a favor and think a thought or two thoroughly through from beginning to end. Explore it’s bends, rises, falls, it’s insides, the outsides, the what if’s, the why care, and any other way you can come up with to experience a thought.

Why?

Because your thoughts become your reality. I had a thought about riding a bike across the country. It became my reality. I had a thought about weighing 200 lbs. It’s becoming my reality.

Think about what you want your health goal to be. Use the S. M. A. R. T. Goals Template to create a thought. Soon…that thought you had…will be your reality.

Resources:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/theteamdifference/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SMART_criteria

SMART

Leave a Reply

