Operation #bringsexyback – Goals

Things are different now…real different.  Ever since I finished the bike tour, my world has expanded beyond anything I ever imagined.  There are a lot of reasons why I decided to go on the tour.  That conversation is for another post.  Today I want to focus on the topic of Goals.

One of the corner stones of the bike tour was that I wanted to accomplish something epic…something that I could call my own and that was bigger than me.  Now I’m turning my sights on something that I’ve been carrying around for way too long…fat.  If you’ve known me for any amount of time, you know I’ve been a big guy for most of my life.  For years, I just accepted the non-sense that “big” was just who I was.  In reality…it’s not who I am.  The image I’ve always held in my mind of what I wanted to look like didn’t match the physical reality.

On the bike tour, I learned weight is something that you have to know how to manage or the daily rides would be miserable to say the least.  When I first started out, my gear weighed in excess of 65lbs.  I thought I needed everything I had with me.  God was I wrong.  It took me time to realize and let go of the stubbornness that was keeping me from lightening my load.  It wasn’t until New Mexico (over half way into the tour) that I figured out and decided to get rid of all my unnecessary gear.  Now it’s time to get rid of my unnecessary fat.

Over the last several weeks, I’ve been working on a new challenge.  During the bike tour I dropped 40 lbs.  When I left Michigan I was 315 lbs.  When I got to Arizona I was 275 lbs.  The new challenge is to reach my ideal weight of 200 lbs.  This challenge has components very similar to what I ran into on the bike tour…I had to learn to how to manage weight.  This hasn’t been easy because of the bad psychology I possess.  When it hit me that I lost weight on the tour, I was like “this is awesome…I want to keep this going”.  The reality was that I couldn’t keep losing weight the way I was on the tour.  The reason I dropped so much weight was that (my best guess) I was burning between 5000-10,000 calories a day.  On average, I was traveling 60-80 miles a day on the bike…AND…I was eating like a horse.  Once the tour was over, I realized I couldn’t maintain those habits.  I had to start new ones.  It took some time to figure out what a healthy lifestyle should be.  The first month off the tour, I actually gained 10 lbs because I was still eating like I was on the tour but I wasn’t doing near the same amount of exercise.  It took me weeks to start exercising again.  I’ll be honest, after 2,659 miles on a bike…exercise was the last thing I was thinking about.

I had to have a health plan.  I had a plan on the bike tour.  I’ve set up a health plan based on my goal of achieving my ideal weight…200 lbs.  I’ve posted some updates (pics & stats) recently and I’ve been overwhelmed with the responses and feedback.  I started my weight loss challenge as something for myself.  I wanted to feel good about the way I looked physically.  But I’m quickly realizing this is something bigger than me…it’s my next epic journey.  People have been asking me, what am I doing…what am I eating…etc…etc.  So I’ve decided to blog about my health journey like I did my bike tour.

Over the next days/weeks/months I’m going to post updates/pics/goals/resources/schedule/etc of my health journey.  Maybe you’ll decide to join me on this trip.  The bike tour was something I did for myself and by myself.  I think this health journey will have started out in a similar way but it’s going to be different…real different…I won’t be alone this time.

Resources – Goto https://www.facebook.com/groups/theteamdifference/ and download the SMART Goal Planner

SMART Goal Planner - Health

photo

Leave a Reply

