Where Are You Going?

If you know me, you know that I’m a huge Dave Matthews fan. As I’m sitting on the light rail traveling to work, I’m reminded of a song that shares the same name as this post.

“Where are you going?”…says the song. As I sit here and look upon the many faces…one person tucked away under his hood…resting?…hiding? I do not know. My eyes wander onward. To a girl…typing…homework?…the next academic award? I do not know. My eyes drift again. A woman wearing a Disney sweatshirt…an emblem of joy and happiness…her eyes…don’t display that…is it curiosity?…anxiety? I do not know.

The people and faces go on and on. At first you ignore them. You just try to blend in. You try not to cross glazes. But after a while…you start to wonder…where are they going? What would happen if I were to reach out? How would they impact me? How would I impact them? Would it be a good thing? Would I regret that moment of fellowship? Do I need that moment to make life better?

So many places I pass by…an airport…a football…basketball…baseball stadiums…a college…restaurants…bars…cafes…strip clubs…homes…a building that looks like a castle…and on and on.

The lyrics ring back into my head again…

Are you looking for answers
To questions under the stars?
Well, if along the way
You are grown weary
You can rest with me until
A brighter day and you’re okay…

Will I be okay? This new road is one I recognize and one that is completely foreign at the same time.

20130110-081845.jpg

Leave a Reply

