Day 9

It’s been a few days since I sat down to blog. To be honest, as weird as this may sound…I’m so busy. It’s not with what you think. There are a lot of things you can’t find by research other things people won’t tell you because they don’t know or don’t want to give you a bad piece of advice. I don’t know how many times already I’ve heard, “Do what you want”. It’s great to have that freedom but sometimes it’s comforting to have that solid piece of advice too.

Let’s catch up with what you’ve missed out thus far. Last time I posted I believe I was helping teach English to the IICD Team…took a bike ride around Dowagiac…ate the best burger in town (at least according to Beeson St Grill)…laid on the hammock that was near the garden…it was AWESOME!!!…had a bonfire with some guitar and drums all the while we danced in a (what I’m going to call) meditative movements…my fly traps weren’t as successful as I had hoped, one of the IICD instructors broke down and bought fly paper…took in a soccer (football for you purists) game with Toshiki, Tae-ku, Eveyln, Andres and Jose…said goodbye to my IICD friends (sad/teary face ;( …I miss those IICD peeps…ate some pears that I bought from a farm that has been in the same family for over a hundred years…and bought a can opener that doesn’t open cans.

This brings me back to where I am today (Shipshewana) and the first topic of this post…use of time. Biking takes up a big part of my travel days. I found out from the innkeeper of the campground I’m staying at that I’m slow. She bikes often and saw my rig and after telling her I was going about 8mph (which I earlier blogged was 10mph and was proven wrong by my odometer) she said I’m slow…and in those exact words. She said that I should be up in the 15mph range and maybe as high as 18mph. Damn I got some work to do.

Taking pictures and video have taken up time too. Mentioning that I’m going to have to find a storage solution for my iPhone pics and video as I’m using up a lot of space. I’m having to delete apps (which may be good in the long run) to make room for them. I figure I can always get the apps back. This adds another dynamic too because I’m not in the best of areas when it comes to Internet signals. Uploading pics and video is becoming a challenge. I was hoping to do a lot of storage on my Facebook page but if I can’t get the data there, that’s out of the question. Blogging is also taking time. I wanted to keep everyone up on what I’m doing and what I’m thinking. I’m going to have to come up with a routine, I think, as I want to keep blogging a priority but I don’t want to over do it either (I don’t want to be the blogger that’s giving you a play by play…less is more right?). Setting up and breaking down camp takes time. On travel days I have to be on the road by dawn. The sun just drains you of energy. I’ve got a massive bikers tan going on right now. Sending out couch surfing requests takes time. Many people, as the website itself, have said to put out 5 – 10 requests for any given area and I’ve heard as high as 20 or more busier couch surfing cities. This adds an added challenge as people have told me to read the profile of the prospective host and draft a lil blurb about why I’d like to stay with them. I’m all about meeting new people…but it’s like an interview process. I tell them that I like them…I hope they like me enough to accept my request. But now that I write that last blurb, this isn’t really that bad. They’re letting you into their homes for free. I guess this particular task should take time so it’s a good fit for the both of us.

I’m going to have figure out how to make money soon. Food is a constant expense. Staying at campgrounds costs money. My iPhone, iPad and insurance are due monthly.

It’s funny now that I think about it with all the ranting and raving about time and money…especially being in Shipshewana, IN. There’s a large Amish population that lives here. The Amish are known for simple living, plain dress, and reluctance to adopt many conveniences of modern technology. They value rural life, manual labor and humility. Alot of the things that I was questioning in my life and were contributors to me taking this journey. One thing I’ve not really made time for…I’m going to have find a balance…is to think…think about what I like and don’t and everything in between. I want to start doing that…this is were my time should be spent. Questioning who I am, why I am and what I’m meant to do in this world. I mean I’ve already in the short time I’ve been traveling, I’ve meet a group of people who sacrifice 18 months of their lives to make the world a better place. Another group of people who value simplicity. Both aforementioned groups know who they are.

Who am I?

20120915-174437.jpg

20120915-174500.jpg

Leave a Reply

